top of page


His Divine Grace A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada, who founded ISKCON, wrote Beyond Birth and Death. The Bhagavad Gita and other Vedic texts discuss life beyond birth and death.

© Image Source - Unsplash

© Image Source - Unsplash

Beyond Birth and Death is a book written by His Divine Grace A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada, who started the Hare Krishna movement, also known as the International Society for Krishna Consciousness (ISKCON). The book looks at what Vedic scriptures say about life after the cycle of birth and death and explains what the Bhagavad Gita and other Vedic texts say about it.

The book talks about a lot of different things, like the nature of the soul, how reincarnation works, the laws of karma, the point of human life, and the ultimate goal of spiritual realisation. It gives ideas and explanations about how the soul is eternal, how the material world is an illusion, and how to reach liberation or transcendence.

Beyond Birth and Death is meant to give spiritual advice and help people understand the deeper parts of life that go beyond the material world. It tells people to think about who they are spiritually and look for a higher purpose than the cycle of birth, death, and rebirth.

Please keep in mind that the information here is just a brief summary of the book. For a fuller understanding, it is best to read the book or ask followers of the Hare Krishna movement or people who study Vedic philosophy for advice.

The Heavens That Extend Beyond the Universe

The idea of "the heavens that extend beyond the universe" is related to cosmology and theories about the nature of the universe and its possible extensions or higher dimensions. It has ideas that go beyond what is currently thought to be true about the universe we can see.

The observable universe is the part of the universe that we can see and study with the tools and knowledge we have now. It is thought to be around 93 billion light-years across. Beyond what we can see, there may be parts of the universe that are too far away for us to see because of how fast light travels and how old the universe is.

But when it talks about "heavens that extend beyond the universe," it often gets into philosophical, religious, or speculative ideas that go beyond what science can explain. Different religions and cosmologies have different ideas about what might be out there beyond what we can see.

Some religious and spiritual beliefs, for example, say that there are higher realms, dimensions, or heavenly realms that are not part of our physical universe. Most of the time, these beliefs depend on a person's religion or philosophy. They may include ideas about the afterlife, celestial realms, or transcendent states of being.

It's important to remember that these ideas are often not part of empirical science or scientific research. They are often based on faith, personal beliefs, or philosophical speculation.

It's always interesting to look at different ideas and points of view about the meaning of life, but it's important to do so with an open mind, respect for different points of view, and a balanced understanding of the differences between scientific knowledge and metaphysical or religious beliefs.

There are 26 chapters in the book "Beyond Birth and Death" by A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada. Each chapter looks at a different part of spiritual understanding, including the nature of the soul, the cycle of birth and death, and the way to spiritual realisation. These chapters are a complete guide for people who want to know more about how the soul is eternal and what the point of life is.

Image Source |

The book primarily focuses on three super main topics:

  1. Understanding the Eternal Soul

  2. Reincarnation and Karma

  3. The Path to Spiritual Realization

Also, Read | The Intellect

Certainly! Here are seven important things that A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada talks about in his book "Beyond Birth and Death":

  1. Nature of the Soul: This book goes into depth about the soul's eternal nature, its connection to the physical body, and its existence after birth and death. It looks at the idea that the soul is a spiritual entity that lasts forever and is different from the temporary body.

  2. Reincarnation and Karma: The book talks about how reincarnation works, which is when the soul has different lives in different bodies. It talks about how the law of karma affects a person's experiences and future lives based on their actions and goals in the past.

  3. Material Nature and Illusion: It looks at how the material world is an illusion and how it has a cycle of birth and death. The book urges readers to go beyond the material world by realising that it is temporary and not satisfying.

  4. Purpose of Human Life: It looks at what life is for and what it can do. The book talks about how people have the chance to become spiritually enlightened and free themselves from the cycle of birth and death.

  5. The Path of Devotional Service: "Beyond Birth and Death" focuses on the path of devotional service as a way to reach spiritual realisation. It talks about how devotional practises and chanting the Hare Krishna mantra can help you build a loving relationship with the Supreme.

  6. Understanding God and His Energies: Understanding God and His Energies is a book that explains what God is like and how His different energies, both physical and spiritual, work. It talks about how the living things, God, and the spiritual world are connected.

  7. Ultimate Goal of Life: It shows that the ultimate goal of life is to realise oneself, love God, and live spiritually forever. The book takes readers on a journey to find out who they really are on a spiritual level and feel a deep connection with the Supreme.

"Beyond Birth and Death" is built on these topics, which give readers a chance to learn about deep spiritual ideas, seek self-realization, and understand the soul's eternal nature beyond the cycle of birth and death.

"The living entities in this conditioned world are My eternal fragmental parts. Due to conditioned life, they are struggling very hard with the six senses, which include the mind." (Beyond Birth and Death, Chapter 1)

This quote shows how important it is to realise that all living things are eternal parts of the Supreme and that they are currently struggling and facing problems in the material world. It encourages people to learn more about what the soul is and to look for a path to a spiritual realisation so they can get beyond the problems of conditioned life.


bottom of page